Troop 48 is a proud supporter of the Netopolis Chapter of Sequoyah Lodge 184. Many of our Scouts and Scouters have been elected to serve in its membership.

What is the Order of the Arrow?

The Order of the Arrow (OA) is an organization in Scouting for honor campers. The purpose of the OA is:

To recognize those campers - Scouts, Explorers, and Scouters - who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives and by such recognition cause other campers to conduce themselves in such a manner to warrant recognition.

To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit.

To promote Scout camping, which reaches its highest effectiveness as a part of the unit's camping program both year-round and in the Summer Camp, as directed by the Camping Committee of the Council.

To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others.

How do we participate in the Order of the Arrow?

As a Troop, we support the OA by attending Work Weekends at Camp Davy Crockett and by volunteering our services to the Lodge Arrowmen Sharing Knowledge (ASK) Program. In this way we can share our skills of backpacking and rappelling with other Scouting organizations in the Warriors Path District.

In addition, several of our Scouts and Scouters have taken a very active role in the leadership of the Netopolis Chapter and Sequoyah Lodge 184 by serving as Chapter and Lodge Officers plus holding advisory positions. Our most notable leadership participation in the OA is that of Lodge Chief, the highest elected youth position in Sequoyah Lodge 184. The Lodge has over one hundred Scout Troops within its boundaries from which to pull officers. Over the past 34 years, six of them have come from Troop 48 - a testament to the constant level of leadership developed in our Scouting Program

1984 - 1985 Bobby Parker
1988 - 1989 Mike Wolfe
1990 - 1991 Benny Parker
1993 - 1994 Joe Bishop
2015 - 2016 Matthew White
2018 - Present Joseph Fox